FLATMAN SOUTHERNROCK :: HOME
FLATMAN BANDINFO

The origins of FLATMAN go back to 1997. This was when band founder Stefan Kossmann decided to form a Lynyrd Skynyrd cover band. Following several line-up changes, the present format was found to be the ideal constellation which, on the back of an impressive stream of live performances - including support acts for Molly Hatchet, Doc Holliday and Wishbone Ash - is attracting a fast-expanding fan base in Germany and, more recently, also in the Czech Republic, Skandinavia and Italy.

FLATMAN make no secret of who their main influences are: Lynyrd Skynyrd as well as other great exponents of the Southern rock genre, such as Molly Hatchet or the Allman Brothers.

Impressive too is the spectrum of their own pieces with which the young musicians have made a name for themselves over recent years. At their widely praised concerts, the Bavarian band still pay tribute to the old Southern rock legends and skilfully incorporate unforgotten Southern hymns into their varied, lively programme. FLATMAN really know how to bring these cover songs to life, never failing to give them their own typical, dynamic sound.

With an unending succession of live performances FLATMAN have managed to build up an ever larger following, sweeping audiences (including many "old rockers") off their feet with their songs and stunning stage acts. FLATMAN's sound is a fusion of all the typical elements as well as explosive guitar duels, growling slides, powerful rhythms and rugged, earthy vocals that make the band virtuosos of classic Southern rock.

In September 2002 the Southern rock formation celebrated a milestone in the band's history: long awaited by fans, the debut CD “A BOTTLE OF BOOZE” was launched and presented at concerts in Germany, the Czech Republic and Italy. Two tours with the American band Rebel Storm, with whom FLATMAN enjoys a close friendship, have taken the band to many different parts of Europe.

In March 2004, FLATMAN came out with a brand-new and previously unreleased song on the "STARS'N BARS" Southern Rock sampler published by the British MANASSAS RECORDS label. At the time, the groups was already working on its second album whose production quality in part bears the signature of Herman Frank, producer and engineer for Molly Hatchet, Rose Tattoo, Saxon and others.

When this album was released, Germany's HALYCON-MUSIC label soon realised FLATMAN's musical potential and live performance talents. Halycon-Music released the new album “HELL-BENT ON GLORY” on 25.10.2004 with 2 extra bonus tracks, taking the band a further step closer to the top of the international Southern rock league. On an extensive tour through Germany, the Czech Republic and other neighbouring countries in autumn/winter 2004/2005, FLATMAN will once again be performing live to fans old and new.

The by fans long expected live-CD „LIVE AT THE APOLLO THEATRE“ was released in 2007. This album made an impact like a bomb and is handeled as a milestone in the German southernrock scene.

After sold out concerts all over Europe in 2008/2009 FLATMAN is again on the road all over Germany, and shows their fans oncemore that puncy southernrock is not necessarily made in USA!



Brand New Album
Hell-Bent On Glory

FLATMAN SOUTHERNROCK :: HOME
FLATMAN BANDINFO

Die Ursprünge von FLATMAN gehen bis in das Jahr 1997 zurück. Zu dieser Zeit fasste Bandgründer Stefan Kossmann den Entschluss, eine Lynyrd-Skynyrd-Coverband zu gründen. Nach etlichen Umbesetzungen wurde mit dem derzeitigen Line-Up die ideale Besetzung gefunden, die sich aufgrund Überzeugender Live-Auftritte, u.a. auch als Support für Molly Hatchet, Doc Holliday und Wishbone Ash, einer stetig wachsenden Fangemeinde in Deutschland und mittlerweile auch in Tschechien, Italien und ganz Skandinavien erfreut.

FLATMAN machen keinen Hehl daraus, wer ihre Vorbilder sind: Lynyrd Skynyrd, sowie andere große Vertreter des Südstaatenrock-Genres wie Molly Hatchet oder die Allman Brothers.
Dementsprechend gross ist auch die Bandbreite der eigenen Stücke mit denen sich die jungen Musiker in den letzten Jahren zu einer eigenständigen Band entwickelten. Nach wie vor zollen die Franken auf Ihren viel gelobten Konzerten den alten Southernrocklegenden Tribut und bauen geschickt unvergessene Südstaatenhymnen in ihr vielseitiges, energiegeladenes Programm ein. Flatman verstehen es gekonnt und druckvoll, diese Coversongs lebendig klingen zu lassen und geben diesen dabei doch immer einen eigenen Flatman-typischen Sound.

FLATMAN haben es durch ihre permanente Livepräsenz geschafft, sich eine stetig wachsende Fangemeinde zu erspielen, und dabei ihr Publikum, darunter auch viele "alte Rockhasen", durch ihre Songs und kraftvolle Showeinlagen auf ihre Seite zu ziehen. Im Flatman-Sound verschmelzen alle typischen Elemente wie packende Gitarrenduelle, dreckige Slides, druckvolle Rhythmen und ein rauher, erdiger Gesang zu dem, was die Band sich auf die Fahne geschrieben hat: klassischen Southern-Rock.

Im September 2002 feierte die oberfränkische Southern-Rock-Formation einen Meilenstein in ihrer Bandgeschichte: Die von den Fans lang erwartete Debüt-CD "A Bottle Of Booze" wurde veröffentlicht und anschliessend bei Konzerten in Deutschland, Tschechien und in Italien vorgestellt. Auch zwei Tourneen mit der amerikanischen Band "Rebel Storm", mit der FLATMAN eine sehr enge Freundschaft verbindet, brachten die Band in so manche Teile Europas.
Im März 2004 kam ein brandneuer unveröffentlicher Song der Franken auf dem Southernrocksampler "STARS`N BARS" heraus, der von dem englischen MANASSAS RECORDS Label veröffentlicht wurde. In dieser Zeit arbeitete die Gruppe bereits an Ihrem zweiten Album "HELL-BENT ON GLORY", bei welchem Herman Frank, Produzent und Engineer von Molly Hatchet, Rose Tatto, Saxon u. a., für die Produktionsqualität mitverantwortlich war.
Mit Veröffentlichung dieses Albums erkannte das deutsche Label HALYCON-MUSIC das musikalische Potential und die Live-Stärken von Flatman. Halycon-Music veröffentlichte das neue Album "Hell-Bent On Glory" mit 2 zusätzlichen Bonus Tracks und brachte die Band damit der Spitze der internationalen Southern-Rock-Liga einen weiteren Schritt näher. Auf einer ausgedehnten Tour durch „South-Europ“ präsentieren sich Flatman auf der "HELL-BENT ON GLORY-Tour" im Herbst/Winter 2004/2005 alten und neuen Fans einmal mehr "live".
2007 erscheint die von Fans bereits lange erwartete Live-CD mit dem Titel „Live at the Apollo Theatre“, die einen weiteren Meilensteil in der deutschen Southern-Szene darstellt.

Nach ausverkauften Konzerten in Europa 2008 und 2009 sind Flatman auch 2010 wieder in ganz Deutschland unterwegs und zeigt seinen Fans zum wiederholten mal, daß schlagkräftiger Southern-Rock nicht unbedingt aus USA kommen muß!



Aktuelles Album
Hell-Bent On Glory